I ate: SUMO Burger at Vegan Junk Food Bar

VJFB burger bitten

This is when you realise (if you haven’t already) that I’m not vegan just for health reasons. MMM just looking at this photo makes me hungry. Again. This is the SUMO Burger by the newly opened Vegan Junk Food Bar. I was too hungry and excited to take a picture of the menu so can’t remember exactly what this burger consists of, but you’ll see (excuse my bites) there are two non-beef patties, vegan cheese, some onions and green leaves, and I think an onion ring tucked in there somewhere? Just delicious.

Vegan Junk Food Bar @ Staringplein 22

The “bar” (http://veganjunkfoodbar.nl/) itself is a small restaurant, with a few tables and stools inside and 3 bench-tables in front of the restaurant which would be ideal for a sunny afternoon. Everything on the menu is (obviously) vegan, and even though I went alone I was so close to ordering for three people. I’ll be definitely going back soon to try the vegan Bitterballen (a Dutch delicacy which usually is made with beef) and some of their sandwiches.

VJFB burger

I did order fries alongside my burger, and just to be extra I got the “parmesan and truffle oil” version which came with vegan mayonaise. Very glad I did though, as these chunky fries were amazing and had just the right amount of truffle-y-ness. Happy days.

VJFB fries truffel

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Goblin says:

    This looks INCREDIBLE

    Like

    1. vegansterdam says:

      It was delicious! 🙂

      Like

  2. erinlovestofu says:

    I was in Amsterdam in early April just before this opened so I missed out (but I went to the Meatless District instead, so not all bad!), but I am coming back in August and the Junk Food Bar is on the top of my list of places to visit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vegansterdam says:

      Oooh yes definitely try it out, really good stuff! The Dutch Weed Burger guys are opening their own restaurant here in June too so you’ll be able to visit when you’re here if you wanted 🙂 I’ve only had an appetizer at Meatless District (which was amazing) but really want to go back to try more dishes soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. erinlovestofu says:

        Meatless District is great, my extremely non-vegan Aunt and Uncle even liked it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

