I ate: Avo Rose at The Avocado Show

Avocado show avo rose side

I knew of this restaurant a few weeks before actually moving to Amsterdam, but only had a chance to try it out this weekend. With its very pop-culture relevant theme, and instagrammable dishes, the queue on weekends are usually an hour or so. I was there bright and early at 9 AM though (woohoo), so luckily no queues or crowds for me.

The Avocado Show @ Daniël Stalpertstraat 61

As the name suggests, the menu of The Avocado Show (http://www.theavocadoshow.com/) revolves around the ever-so popular avocado – in full form, mashed up, in drinks, and as a dessert base. You have the famous “Avo Rose” (anyone else try doing this at home but fail?), typical guacamole on nachos, an interesting twist to the Poke Bowl, and then a few sweet options including a dark chocolate mousse. Nearly all of the dishes can be customised vegan, and the menu clearly states this (see photo below) – the waitress I spoke to was also very knowledgeable and reassuring, and told me that they sometimes have specials that are vegan/veganizable too.

Avocado Show menu

As mentioned, nearly everything here is highly instagrammable, from the beautifully presented dishes to the interior of the restaurant itself (pink plushy sofas and leafy walls) – even the menu with its cute avocado logo is worthy of a photo. It’s the perfect place to bring your friends, but then again don’t forget the long wait that you’re bound to run into.

Avocado show interior

For my Avo Rose dish, I chose toast instead of rice cake, and topped it with wasabi-avo. Usually not a fan of wasabi, but the flavour here was not overpowering and added a nice kick to the dish. The pretty little flowers were also a nice touch, and made the dish just that much prettier. On a whole I really enjoyed this, and really can’t fault the aesthetics of the dish, but will admit it was a little salty. That may be just a personal preference though, and I’ll just know to ask for less salt on my avocado next time round. Planning to go back to try the Triple Dip Nachos and the the Next Level Mousse, if I can wake up early enough.

P.S. The Avocado Show (https://www.instagram.com/theavocadoshow/) reposted my instagram – exciting times indeed.

avocado show ig

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mariah Jo says:

    Ahh I wanted to try this place but it wasn’t open when I was visiting. Looks so fun!

    Like

    1. vegansterdam says:

      Ooh happens to me too but no worries hopefully you’ll get to try next time! Really cute place 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

